The Parish Council represents and serves the whole community even though the parish comprises  smaller communities with varying interests.

Oswestry Rural Parish Council consists of 15 individual Councillors who are volunteers who contribute to the work of the Council  by:

  • suggesting ideas
  • engaging in constructive debate
  • responding to the needs and views of the community
  • representing their constituents
  • behaving in an ethical way and being open about interests
  • commenting on proposals to ensure the best outcome
  • voting – to enable the Council to make decisions

All Councillors agree to abide by the Council’s Code of Conduct

Councillors must complete and keep an up to date Register of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests and declare any undisclosed interests prior to participating in discussions at Council meetings.

The Parish Council has adopted a Disclosable Pecuniary Interest Dispensation Procedure.

Councillors also keep a register of any gifts or hospitality received in accordance with the Council’s Hospitality & Gifts Policy and Register of Hospitality & Gifts


Your current Councillors are:

Maesbury with Aston Ward

Councillor Martin Jones

White House Cottage, Osbaston, Knockin, SY10 8HT 

Tel: 07989 036708

Email: mjones@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Councillor Tony Milner

Park Mill, Maesbury Marsh, SY10 8JD. 

Tel: 01691 610742 

Email:  amilner@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Councillor Peter Richardson – Chairman

Statefield, Back Lane, Maesbury, SY10 8AX. 

Tel: 01691 679932 

Email:  prichardson@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Morda with Sweeney Ward

Councillor Janet Barlow

Bryn-y-Mapsis, Nant Lane, Morda, SY10 9AL. 

Tel: 01691 658134 

Email:  jbarlow@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Councillor Les Maguire

        4 Maserfield, Oswestry, SY11 1RZ.

        Tel: 07595 589429 

        Email: lmaguire@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Councillor Phil May – Vice Chairman

Herons Wood, Nantmawr, SY10 9HH. 

Tel: 01691 829064 

Email: pmay@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Councillor Paul Milner

56 School Lane, Trefonen, SY10 9DY. 

Tel: 07581 223599

Email: pmilner@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Councillor Robert Milton

Penylan View, Coed y Go, SY10 9AE. 

Tel: 01691 676110

Email: rmilton@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Rhydycroesau with Llanforda Ward

Councillor Peter Davies

Summerhill, Racecourse Road, Oswestry, SY10 7PN. 

Tel: 01691 652853 

Email: pdavies@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

VACANCY

 

 

 

Sychtyn Ward

Councillor Elliot Roberts Jones

Lima, Coed-y-Go, Oswestry SY10 9AD. 

Tel: 01691 652843 

Email:  erobertsjones@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Trefonen with Treflach Ward

Councillor Pam Broomby

Dolwen, Pit Lane, Treflach, SY10 9HB. 

Tel: 01691 653479  

Email: pbroomby@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Councillor John Davies

The Old Post Office, Trefonen, SY10 9DQ. 

Tel: 07980 680845

Email: jdavies@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Councillor Bob Kimber

Fallow Fields, Rectory Close, Trefonen, SY10 9FF.

Tel: 01691 679646 

Email: bkimber@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

Councillor Claire Mahoney

Gwernhafod, Gwern Y Brenin, Oswestry, SY10 8AS

Tel: 07545 3765231

Email: cmahoney@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

 


All Parish Councils have a Clerk, referred to in law as the Proper Officer.  The role and responsibilities of Parish Councils vary in accordance with the population they serve and the services they are responsible for.  Therefore the role and responsibilities of the Clerk will vary from council to council.

As the chief executive officer the Clerk’s overall responsibility is to carry out the policy decisions of the Council.  The Clerk has overall responsibility for the administration of the Council and is responsible for ensuring that its business is carried out efficiently and in accordance with the law.  In some councils the Clerk is also the Responsible Financial Officer responsible for ensuring the Council’s financial transactions are properly administered.

Oswestry Rural Parish Council’s Clerk is:

Sharon Clayton MPA, BA (Hons), Fellow SLCC

64 Cherrybrook Drive, Broseley, Shropshire TF12 5SH

01952 884372

Contact the Clerk

Please note that the Clerk works part-time and there may be a delay in responnding to any enquiries.