

Oswestry Rural Parish Council

NEWSLETTER

For the Parish of Oswestry Rural

WELCOME to our latest edition.

As this newsletter is launched we are all in the grip of the coronavirus outbreak that is causing much concern all around the globe. We have published information about this pandemic on our website which is kept regularly updated with links to the government and the NHS websites. Please follow their advice and keep safe.



Notice Board Replacement Programme



As part of our notice board replacement programme we have now installed the first new notice board at Ball Lane in Maesbury.

The notice boards are being made by Malcolm Lainsbury and are constructed from oak to ensure they are hard wearing as well as attractive.

It is hoped that the next notice board to be installed will be at Nantmawr.

The Tony Cheetham Community Service Award

We are now looking for nominations for this year's "Tony Cheetham Community Service Award" sponsored by Stonehouse Brewery. Do you know someone who deserves this award? If so please complete a nomination form which can be dowloaded from our website or on application to the Clerk. The presentation of this award will be later in the year once the government declares it is safe for public gatherings.

2021/2022 Precept

The precept for 2021/2022 will remain the same as last year which is £45,583. The annual cost per Band D household is £27, 52p per week. Full details of how we arrived at this figure are on our website along with other financial information.

PARISH COUNCILLORS

Maesbury with Aston Ward

Martin Jones 07989 036708

Tony Milner 01691 610742

Peter Richardson (Chairman) 01691 679932

Morda with Sweeney Ward

Janet Barlow 01691 658134

Les Maguire 07595 589429

Phil May (Deputy Chairman) 01691 829064

Paul Milner 07581 223599

Robert Milton 01691 676110

Rhydycroesau with Llanforda Ward

Peter Davies 01691 652853

Shirley Jones 01691 652836

Sychtyn Ward

Elliot Roberts-Jones 01691 652843

Trefonen with Treflach Ward

Pam Broomby 01691 653479

Bob Kimber 01691 679646

John Davies 07980 680845

Claire Mahoney 07545 376231

Future meeting dates

2020

Please visit our website for details of future meetings as, due to the coronavirus and government advice to avoid public meetings, we shall not be meeting as previously planned.

Annual Parish Meeting

This year's Annual Parish Meeting was scheduled to take place on Tuesday 19 May 2020. This is the annual electors meeting. However, this meeting has been cancelled due to government advice which stops people from gathering in an attempt to prevent the spread of coronavirus.

Report an issue

If you have any concerns about the local environment, for example potholes, dog fouling, litter etc. you can report these directly to Shropshire Council either online, or by email to:

customer.services@shropshire.gov.uk

or by telephone: 0345 678 9000

Road closures

Details of road closures in and around Oswestry are published on our website.

Contact details

Clerk to the Council: Sharon Clayton MPA, BA (Hons) Fellow SLCC

01952 884372

clerk@oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

www.oswestryrural-pc.gov.uk

