Oswestry Rural Parish is divided into 5 wards: Maesbury with Aston Ward with 580 electors, Morda with Sweeney Ward with 1,548 electors, Rhydycroesau with Llanforda Ward with 197 electors,  Sychtyn Ward with 84 electors and Trefonen with Treflach Ward with 1,021 electors making a total electorate of 3,430 (electoral figures taken from the 2016 electoral register).

Maps of the Wards can be found through the links below:

Maesbury with Aston Ward

Morda with Sweeney Ward

Rhydycroesau with Llanforda Ward

Sychtyn Ward

Trefonen with Treflach Ward

Parish Councils are the part of local government closest to the people.  It is not a voluntary organisation, a charity or something to do with the church.  It is an elected body made up of Councillors who are volunteers and not paid for the service they give to the community.  Parish Councils serve the smallest area and are responsible for the most local matters.  Very importantly, Parish Councils can “precept” – raise a sum collected with the council tax each year to improve facilities and service for local people.

Parish Councils were first created under the Local Government Act 1894 and they are still being created.  As Parish Councils were created in law, they can only act within the law by exercising those powers and functions, which have been conferred on them by Statute (ie Acts of Parliament).

The Council represents and serves the whole community.  Most communities are made up of smaller communities, often with different interest; a Council’s duty is to serve them all.  The Council balances the needs of different elements of all the community to get the best results.  Frequently, Councils have the difficult task of deciding what the best result might be.

Parish Councils have a number of basic responsibilities in making the lives of local communities more comfortable, many of which are often taken for granted.  Essentially these powers fall within three main categories; representing the whole electorate within the parish; delivering services to meet local needs; and striving to improve the quality of life in the parish.


Oswestry Rural Parish Council has 1 Committee, the Personnel Committee.  These are the Committee’s Terms of Reference

It was agreed to stop holding meetings of the Finance and Services Committee during the financial year 2018/19.


The Council provides several services.

Street Lighting – the Council provides a number of the street lights in the Parish. If you notice a problem with any of the street lights please contact the Parish Clerk and she will make sure it is resolved.

Grounds Maintenance – the Council maintains a number of green areas around the Parish.

Notice Boards – the Council/Parish has a number of notice boards.

Cemeteries – the Council is responsible for two cemeteries within the parish; a closed cemetery at Trefonen (on the cross) and the open cemetery at Trefarclawdd.